About the Department

The Department of Chemistry was started in the academic year 2017-2018 with B.Sc. Chemistry Programme with a sanctioned strength of 40 students. The Department of Chemistry is functioning in the new block from the academic year 2022-2023. The Department is instrumental in imparting scientific innovation and creativity among the students of the rural area. The faculty strength of the department is 5 all are doctoral degree holders. The Department is also offering ancillary chemistry for B.Sc. Physics, B.Sc. Botany, and B.Sc. Zoology programmes. The department has fully furnished two laboratories (Organic and Inorganic & Physical Chemistry laboratories). Experienced, well qualified and dedicated members of staff in the department make remarkable contributions for the growth and success of the department. The faculty members of the department are actively engaged in frontier research area of chemistry. Faculty members are also guiding Ph.D degree with guideship obtained from Madurai Kamaraj University, Madurai. The faculty members have received research grants from many funding agencies including the University Grants Commission (UGC) and Tamil Nadu State Council for Science and Technology (TNSCST).