About the Department

The Department of Physics was established in the academic year 2017-2018, and offering B.Sc Physics programme with a sanctioned strength of 40 students. The Department is functioning in the first floor of the main block from the academic year 2017-2018. The faculty strength of the department is 5 and out of which 4 are doctoral degree holders. The Department of Physics is also offering ancillary Physics for B.Sc. Mathematics, B.Sc Chemistry and B.Sc Computer Science programmes. It has a well-equipped Lab with sophisticated equipment and latest books in the Departmental library to cater to the needs of students. The faculty members of the department are actively engaged in frontier research areas of Physics. Thrust area of research programmes are being pursued intensively in this department which includes Nanotechnology, Lattice dynamics, Thin films, Crystal growth, Non-Linear optical materials, Nano-composites, Nano-oxides and Ferrites materials. and Optical physics and quantum information science. The faculty of the department has strong commitment towards teaching and learning. The faculties have published many research articles in National and International journals. Besides, the students are provided with online job oriented programs offered through NAAN MUDALVAN SCHEME by the Government of Tamil Nadu.